As Laurence’s solo recordings have been mostly in Jazz and Jazz Fusion. He was a member of the fusion quartet The Fents and appeared on their second album, The Other Side, released on the Passport Jazz label in 1987.


He played with The Alan Parsons Project on Gaudi, their final album for Arista, and on Freudiana, Parsons' final collaboration with Eric Woolfson. He is the brother of Richard Cottle also a member of THE PROJECT and played with him during his time with The Alan Parsons Project.


Shortly after The Alan Parsons Project, he was hired by British heavy metal band Black Sabbath to play bass on the studio sessions that would become their 1989 album Headless Cross. Cottle wrote and played all the bass parts for the album and appeared on the music video for the song "Headless Cross" but didn't perform live or tour with the band.


In the 1990s, he produced three albums for guitarist Jim Mullen and recorded with British Jazz Musicians Mornington Lockett, Tim Garland, Django Bates, Gerard Presencer, and John Graham. From 2003 to 2006, he was a member of Bill Bruford's Earthworks. In 2009, He produced albums for Claire Martin, Gareth Williams, and Mark Nightingale.


He played on Van Morrison's 2017 album Roll with the Punches.


2021 through 2022 brings the long awaited reunion of THE PROJECT for their first tour EVER. The tour will be three years and will commence during early 2021 in Europe. The reunion of Lenny Zakatek on lead vocals, Andrew Powell on keyboards and conducting, Laurence Cottle on bass, Stuart Elliott on drums, Richard Cottle on keyboards and saxophone and featuring guests Dave Bainbridge and Sam Blue on guitars and vocals will prove to be the rock music's main event of each year.



Recordings featuring Laurence Cottle


Alan Parsons Project - Gaudi

Alan Parsons Project - Freudiana

Bass-talk six - Deep Impact Ahead

Bass-talk! - Bass-talk!

Basstorius - Basstorius

Black Sabbath - Headless Cross

Brian Eno - Nerve Net

Chi Coltrane - The Message

Chris Farlowe - The Voice

Clark Tracey - Stability

Cozy Powell - The Drums are Back

Daunik Lazro - General Gramofon

Dick Heckstall-Smith - Celtic Steppes

Don Airey - K2 / Tales of Triumph and Tragedy

Eric Clapton - August

Fents - The Other Side

Forcefield - Forcefield II - the Talisman

Gary Moore - After the War

Geoff Eales - Mountains of Fire

Greg Kane - Stranger Things Have Happened

Hanson - Snowed In

Hue & Cry - Next Move

Itchy Fingers - Teranga

Itchy Fingers - Quark

Jason Rebello - A Clearer View

Jim Mullen - Into The 90's

John Graham Band - First and Last

Kevin Brown - Time Marches On

Laurence Cottle - Five Seasons

Laurence Cottle Big Band - Laurence Cottle Big Band

Laurence Cottle Quintet - Live

Network - Corroded Path

Nigel Hitchcock Quartet - The Snake Ranch Sessions

Nina Hagen - Nina Hagen

Paul Spong - Holdin' On

Seal - 2nd album

The James Taylor Quartet - Get Organized

Tim Garland Quartet - Playing to the Moon

Tony Iommi - Iommi

Tony Martin - Back where I Belong

Van Morrison - Roll with the Punches


TV/Film Music Composed by Laurence Cottle


All My Children

American Cinema


Baby Story

Big Brother

Bill Nye the Science Guy

Boston Common

California Dreams

CBS Sneak Peek


Dream On

Entertainment Tonight

Fresh Prince


Full Body Massage

Good Morning America

Kavanah QC

Man Alive


Nickelodeon News


Outer Limits

3rd Rock from the Sun

Future Quest

Hetty Wainthropp Investigates

Take the High Road

Oprah Winfrey Show

Married With Children

Jim Carrey Movie Special


Take a Girl Like You



 © 2021   The Project Band LTD. (U.K.)  |  All Rights Reserved


 © 2021  The Project Band LTD. (U.K.)  |  All Rights Reserved